The Maze Runner: A Teen Book for People Who Don’t Like Teen Books

Happy Cinco de Mayo! While I may be in French class and don’t actually do anything on Cinco de Mayo, I figured maybe you do so I’ll treat you all with a book review. It’s a good one! And I tried to keep it on the quick side. So, here we go!

 

I recently read the book The Maze Runner by James Dashner. Generally I shy away from the teen section (where this book is located), because they all seem to be about paranormal love triangles or post-apocalyptic teenage deaths or hormones. I don’t like any of those topics. At all. So I stick with Middle Grade Fiction (Even though that really is not in my reading level…shhh…) and classics (Jules Verne, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Oscar Wilde, etc.). I don’t think I’ve really ever read a teen book because they give me the heebee-geebees. But, on the recommendation of a friend, I decided to read it. He likes science fiction and isn’t a weirdo so I figured it had to be at least okay.

It was way more than okay. It was one of the best books I’ve read in a long time.

The plot of this book is not one I can easily explain. At all. But basically, this teenage boy named Thomas wakes up with no memory of his life inside this elevator.When he gets to the top, he’s in this big field, called The Glade, in the middle of a maze, aptly named The Maze, with a bunch of other boys. None of them remember anything about their lives, and their sole purpose here is to try and get out, while not being killed by these freaky things called Grievers. They receive supplies every week, and a new boy every month. People die. It’s freaky. But people kind of treat Thomas weird. Thomas seems to almost remember the place, and people seem to almost remember him. And to make it all weirder, another person shows up the next day…A girl! Well, that’s all I’m giving you of the plot (That’s about how much they say on the back), but man, it’s awesome.

I’m usually pretty good at figuring stuff out in a book, especially science fiction. I was completely wrong in almost every hypothesis I made as to the plot while reading. It was awesome! I love being wrong! The characters are all really great and really relatable, and I will definitely be reading the rest of the series.

So, if you’re like me and need to read a high school level book for school but hate reading cruddy romantic sludge, try The Maze Runner. You’ll be glad you did.

Molly B

2 thoughts on “The Maze Runner: A Teen Book for People Who Don’t Like Teen Books

  1. I know what you mean about staying away from the teen section. I roll my eyes every time I walk by. BUT if you’re willing to dig a little there are some really, really good books there. Just stay away from the ones that focus heavily on the romance. 😉

    Glad you liked the book!

Leave a Nice Little Comment

